Eat This: Oatmeal Chocolate Bars (naturally sweetened & wheat free)

This morning I ran 10 miles.

When you run 10 miles you have a lot of time to think about what you want to bake when you get home after you have a glass of water, eat breakfast, take a nap, and finally come back into your body and want to be productive. Running can be such a joy. It’s odd to some people. But there is something so beautiful about going to be by 9:30 to only wake up at 3:45, jump in running shoes and trot for 2 hours. You watch the sun come up. You see delivery trucks drop off the goods for the day. You smell the donuts frying and glazes being mixed. I get to pass two donuts shops on my run; which actually totals to 4 opportunities to contemplate stopping my run and begging the bakery to give me a chocolate glazed old fashioned because I have no money because well, I’m supposed to be running.  If you have never tried running early I really, really suggest it. Even just get up for a super early walk. Plus, it feels like you have two days in one! With my first half day I ran 10 miles with my second half I baked.

IMG_9024

Today I baked Oatmeal Chocolate Bars. They are a dense, chocolate filled, mess of goodness. Heavy, fat, moist, chocolatey, and oh-so-mother-lovin-good!

IMG_9065

Oatmeal Chocolate Bars

(naturally sweetened and wheat free)

1/4 cup earth balance, softened

1/4 cup almond butter

3/4 cup coconut sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup oatmeal flour

1/4 cups rye flour

1 1/4 cup quick cooking oats

1/4 cup flax seeds

3/4 cup grain sweetened chocolate

IMG_9052

Preheat oven to 350°F

Cream together the earth balance, almond butter, and coconut sugar for about a minute. Add the vanilla, baking soda, salt, and egg.

Scape down the side of the mixing bowl & add the oat & rye flour as well as the oats, flax seeds, and 1/4 cup of the grain sweetened chocolate chips.

In a pie pan or 9X9 baking baking dish layer about half of the oatmeal mixture. Spread the rest of the grain sweetened chocolate chips on top of the oatmeal layer and finally clump the rest of the oatmeal mixture on top of the chocolate layer.

Bake pan for 20-28 minutes. I like mine a little moist in the middle so I can reheat and have it be just as delectable.

These babies are dense and heavy. They go great with chocolate coconut milk ice cream. Serve them hot or cold but regardless they are killer! I’ll leave some out and freeze the rest for later consumption. Just trap in an airtight container and put in the freezer. When you ready let them thaw or throw one in the microwave for a bit and top with ice cream:) A treat I will continue to bake for years to come.  Eat This!

IMG_8992

Leave a comment